Welcome!

Headshot

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Hi!  Welcome to the blog!  My name is Juliya.  Nice to meet you!
I have spent a lot of time trying to decide what the focus of this space should be, and had a lot of trouble making the choice.  You see, I have a number of interests that I indulge in when time allows.  My foremost passion has always been style and fashion, but cooking and writing are also on the list.  Original – no? 😉 I have chosen to call this blog Something Else because it is a space where I am doing something different from my usual daily routine – sharing things I love!

My first memory involving fashion is, cracking open my mom’s sewing magazine from the late 70s at the age of three, and feeling very strongly that I hated platforms and flared pants (I have since reconsidered my stance on flared pants, but platforms remain on the ‘no’ list 🙂 ).  I also remember throwing a tantrum at the same age because the dress my mom put on me did not meet my aesthetic criteria.  It was aqua and red plaid (darling in retrospect – sorry mom!).  In the early days of  the blogs, having discovered Agathe Molvik’s Stylebytes, I tried starting my own blog a couple of times, but stopped because it felt wrong to be saying ‘look at all my fancy stuff’.  Getting started again in 2015, older and wiser, I have learned to focus on what feels like ‘me’.  I’m a uniform girl where the only things I put on are what is functional and essential, with a focus on beauty and quality.

Cooking came to me relatively late in life, when I met my husband.  When we were dating, I explicitly told him ‘I don’t cook’.  He said he didn’t mind (what a guy! – I fell in love 🙂 ).  I moved to California where he lived, and we got married.  Not knowing anyone and looking for work under a great deal of stress and financial pressure, I started frequenting the Latin market across the street because it was cheaper than all the other stores for food, and cooking at home.  That daily ritual became a lifeline to relieve anxiety and a way to save money.  I also started becoming a better cook!  My cooking philosophy to this day remains to see what we have that is in need of rescue (will go bad if not cooked), and build a menu around it.  The result is we have zero food waste, and an interesting, varied diet.

Finally, writing.  Ah, writing – you are a tough nut to crack.  Every now and again, I get inspired to write something creatively, and occasionally, I succeed.  However, writing something creative on a regular basis has been really difficult if not insurmountable.  I have come across a few blogs where girls successfully blend writing with style, most notably Clothes Cameras and Coffee, run by the beautiful Roz.  Her observations are intelligent and insightful, and she manages to talk about style without making it sound trite.  She has my utmost admiration, and I cannot do what she does.  So, after feeling bad and beating myself up continually, I have decided to let it go, lighten up, and only write something when the inspiration struck.  To that end, I am going to put any such writing under the category of Story Time.

I will do my best to make this space an authentic, and engaging place for my readers.  Please stay a while, and feel free to comment and critique on what I can do to make the blog better.

Leave a Reply

